the members present. Boards of control exist in Toronto, Ottawa, Hamilton and London.

Counties.—All members of county councils are also members of the councils of the municipalities within the larger county municipality, being the reeves and deputy reeves of townships, villages and towns. The presiding officer of the county council is called the warden, and is annually chosen from among the reeves who are members of the council. The county council has charge of the main highways and bridges, the courthouse, gaol, house of refuge, registry office, etc. Its rates are collected through the constituent local municipalities. Provisions for the erection of one kind of urban municipality into another are given in the Act. Four of the thirty-eight county municipalities of the province are composed of a union of counties, viz. (1) Leeds and Grenville, (2) Northumberland and Durham, (3) Prescott and Russell and (4) Dundas, Stormont and Glengarry.

Use of the Referendum.—Important questions and certain descriptions of by-laws are under the Municipal Act submitted to the direct vote of the electors, money by-laws generally to property-owners only. Except in the case of money by-laws, the decision of the electors is not legally binding upon the governing body of the municipality. Municipalities are empowered to pass by-laws to provide bonuses in aid of manufactures and railways; these bonuses may take the form of money grants, guarantees, total or partial exemption from municipal taxation or other special facilities.

Judiciary.—Under the Law Reform Act of 1909 (9 Edw. VII, c. 28), the Supreme Court of Ontario is established in two divisions, the appellate division and the high court division, the former being a continuation of the old court of appeal and the latter a continuation of the old high court of justice. The appellate division is composed of not less than two divisional courts, each with five justices, who try appeals from the high court and the other courts of the province, and from whose decision appeals may in certain cases be made to the Supreme Court of Canada. The justices of the high court hold assizes at least twice a year in each county, with a very comprehensive jurisdiction. In each county or district there is a court presided over by a judge, who sits at least twice a year, with or without a jury, to try minor civil actions. Each county judge also presides at least twice yearly over a court of general session, with a limited jurisdiction in criminal matters. Criminals may, with their own consent, be tried by the county judge without a jury. Each judicial district is divided into court divisions in each of which a division court is held by the county judge, or his deputy, at least once in every two months. These courts are for the recovery of small debts and damages. county judges hold revision courts for the revision of assessment rolls and of voters' lists; they are also judges of the surrogate courts, which deal with the estates of deceased persons.